Bah Bah Black Sheep

I didn’t started lifting weights to conform. Quite the contrary I started lifting weights cause I needed an escape from the conformist society of Newport Beach. I never really fit in with the popular kids. I didn’t party and do the same things as most. I had a few close friends that I played music with and went to Hardcore and Punk shows and that was it. I saw most people growing up having a complete disregard for their bodies and that was the cool thing. To “not give a fuck”. I got made fun of because I went to the gym on friday night instead of going to parties. I was an outcast of sorts. I was the black sheep and always did my own thing my own way. Those who grew up with me even nicknamed me “sheep”. My approach to my music career was the same way as my adolecents. Bleeding Through and even before that with 18 Visions and Throwdown we did things our own way and didn’t conform. Now looking back at the last decade and seeing the career that Bleeding Through had it had it’s ups and down and we could have very well sold out and tried to go mainstream but we didn’t. We stuck to what made us happy in the first place. Playing music together and creating the scary music that we loved to play and playing the fuck out out of that music no matter if there were 5 people watching or 5,000 people. We would just grip it and rip it. So looking back I can honestly say I am glad that Bleeding Through never got commercial success. I think that would have just ruined the emotion to the music and the connection to our loyal fans. Now my approach to fitness is the same. I don’t want to conform. I set out to build a culture that those can find solace in. Through fitness the same as with Bleeding Through I want to help mold an attitude and a sense of empowerment. I believe that bettering ones bodies and health can change a persons mental short-commings. Along with music it has saved my life more times than one and helped my mental issues. I want Rise Above Fitness to be the black sheep. The underground. The Punk rock. The Attitude. The culture. So what I am getting at is do things your own way. No matter how many hills you have to climb. If you have a vision go for it and don’t let words and negative opinions stand in your way. If you don’t reach commercial success who gives a shit. It is better to know that if you look back at your past you aren’t embarrassed because you did it your own way. Be the black sheep.

-peace I’m out of here

Brandan Schieppati

Leave a Reply

