Flesh & Blood

Its amazing to me the similarities that the music industry and fitness industry have to one another. It is something that I get reminded of time and time again. I have to say it totally bums me me out as well. The main thing that bums me out about the fitness industry is how people will take slight popularity and form an incredible ego with it. Just like when a band you like is humble until they start selling records and then all of a sudden “rockstar attitude” happens. In this day and age it is very easy to get recognized via Facebook, Instagram, Vine, YouTude, etc. Not saying that is a bad thing. I am guilty as fuck when it comes to using these outlets to better my training and music career, my gym, my clothing brand and online coaching. I mean you are a fool if you do not take advantage of these things to better your brand. I will tell you what I am not guilty of though! Being a self absorbed ego maniac asshole because I have a social media following. To many people get to much credit for having 100000000 followers on Instagram or Facebook. I hear to much from people “OMG that person is like totally my idol”! WHY?!?! Because they can take a good picture? I don’t know. Maybe I am old fashion but if I look up to someone I like to know that they have made legit accomplishments in their life. Not just being awesome on IG or FB. Most importantly I want to know that that person is flesh and blood. To many times someone gains popularity and all of a sudden changes. Lately I have seen this way to much in people and it pisses me off. Stay humble stay flesh and blood. Most importantly for those reading this. Choose your idols carefully and know that these people you look up are human just like you. They make mistakes just like you. They breathe the same air as you.

You might be reading this and saying to yourself “Brandan people might idolize you. What about that?” Here is my answer. I’ve never wanted fame. I’ve had success through hard work and sacrifice. I never set out to be an idol or anything more than a human being. I will always make mistakes in my life. I will have bad days. I will let people down but I will always keeping working to better myself and I will always be flesh and blood.

Brandan

 

Leave a Reply

